Soul Sides Vol. 1
In the spring of 2005, I was approached by Kevin Drost at Velour Music/Zealous Records about putting together a compilation. He was a fan of my audioblog and thought there might be a good opportunity here to both bring some great music to light as well as test the waters for interest amongst a newly forming generation of music listeners who are getting their cues from online sites like mine and others. Thus was born Soul Sides Vol. 1.

For fans of the audioblog, roughly half the songs on here originally debuted there but I've always held back other songs just for an occassion like this so there should be somethiing here for both the Soul Sides initiated and newcomers. With any luck, we'll have a second volume available down the road.

Thanks to: Cool Chris, Justin Torres, Georges Sulmers, Egon, Dante, Hua Hsu, Chairman Mao, Dave Tompkins, as well as Tofu Hut, Music For Robots, Fluxblog and all the emerging audioblogs.

This CD is dedicated to the living memory of Weldon Irvine, Donny Hathaway, Erma Franklin, Johnny Watson and J-Dilla.

(Psss...check the reviews).

< previous   next >

1. Charles May and Annette May Thomas: Keep My Baby Warm
2. Clarence Reid: Masterpiece
3. Lee Moses: Time and Place
4. Amanda Ambrose: Sad Songs
5. Erma Franklin: Piece of My Heart
6. Donny Hathaway: Jealous Guy
7. Linda Lyndell: What a Man
8. Jimmy Jones: Live and Let Live
9. Ann Sexton: You're Gonna Miss Me
10. Johnny "Guitar" Watson: Lovin' You
11. Joe Bataan: Ordinary Guy
12. Weldon Irvine: Morning Sunrise
13. William Bell: I Forgot To Be Your Lover
14. Sharon Jones and the Dap-Kings: All Over Again

© 2006 Oliver Wang
site design: Sharon Mizota